Choosing an Open Data Publishing Platform

(Beth Noveck) #1

Hi,

Am looking for experienced practitioners who can opine about the relative merits of using Socrata or another platform to publish open data. Was asked the question by a US federal official and want to try to make an introduction. Thanks, Beth

(Bernhard Krabina) #2

I don’t know Socrata, but in Europe CKAN is the de-facto standard. I have basic CKAN knowledge, but can connect to professionals. In my view www.semantic-mediawiki.org is a great open data publishing platform, too.

(Beth Noveck) #3

Thanks. DKAN is the middle point that many are using here. @andrewhoppin is the go to guy on DKAN. I’ll pass your name along to the folks here who are asking and trying to know what to do pick. Meanwhile I have another email in my outbox waiting to go to you!

(Bernhard Krabina) #4

I only know of the Cities of Bonn and Köln that use DCAN. Seems the main reason for chosing DCAN is the quite different hosting environment/setup needed for CKAN. Many times CKAN is bundled with CMS-solutions (DCAN, Wordpress or in the case of govdata.de with Liferay).

(Raul Melendez) #5

DKAN is used in Germany by at least Bonn, Cologne, Dusseldorf, Mannheim, Mülheim an der Ruhr, Bielefeld University, and Rhein-Neckar-Verkehr.

I have a bias since I work directly on DKAN and have a SaaS business around DKAN, and we believe both CKAN and Socrata can great options for some governments for different reasons, but we find that governments choose DKAN over CKAN or Socrata when at least two of the following criteria are important:

• No “vendor lock-in” and innovation potential of fully open-source software, and/or

• Already use Drupal for content management, and/or

• Need a turnkey SaaS solution with enterprise-grade support (“SLA” here in the US), and/or

• Want to drive data engagement via data storytelling, group management and data visualization and/or

• Already use GovDelivery for digital communications (in the US and UK)